Platform Selector


Assignments on Foundry can be classified under 4 different statuses each with varying permissions of what administrators can do to adjust settings and how they display on the admin and the learner dashboards.

This guide will clarify what is possible for each of these states and when each may be most useful for an administrator.


StatusScheduledStartedClosedArchived
Why Use This?I want to set up my assignment ahead of time so I am not rushing on the planned start date.On and after the Start Date, this is how I know invitations went out to learners.I don't want to add any new learners to this assignment, but I'll let anyone who was already assigned complete it even if it's past due.I want to stop allowing all progress in this assignment and move it to the "Deactivated" tab.
Can I edit the assignment?Yes, as long as it is before the Start Date.Only Due Date and Reminder schedule.Only Assignment Name and archival Date.Only Assignment Name.
Can I add learners?YesYesNoNo
InvitationsNo invitesInvites go out to scheduled learners on the Start Date. Anyone added later on will receive the invite when assigned.No invitesNo invites
RemindersNo remindersReminders go out as scheduled.Reminders go out as scheduled.No reminders
Learner DashboardNo Card VisibleVisible on Open tab until completed.Visible on Open tab until completed.Visible on Closed tab if incomplete, but cannot click into the course. If complete, the learner can click "Review Content."
Training Progress ReportLearner status = "Not Started, Selected" Learner status = individual progress/participation status (Not Started, In Progress, Complete, Past Due)Learner status = individual progress/participation status (Not Started, In Progress, Complete, Past Due)Learner status = "Closed" Assignment is listed as "Deactivated"
Can I unassign learners?YesYesYesNo
Can I delete or deactivate?All of the above, but delete is the only necessary one at this stage.Cannot delete, but you can deactivate and move to Closed or Archived.Cannot delete, but you can deactivate and move to Closed or Archived.None of the above.
Status
Scheduled
Started
Closed
Archived

Why Use This?
I want to set up my assignment ahead of time so I am not rushing on the planned start date.
On and after the Start Date, this is how I know invitations went out to learners.
I don't want to add any new learners to this assignment, but I'll let anyone who was already assigned complete it even if it's past due.
I want to stop allowing all progress in this assignment and move it to the "Deactivated" tab.

Can I edit the assignment?
Yes, as long as it is before the Start Date.
Only Due Date and Reminder schedule.
Only Assignment Name and archival Date.
Only Assignment Name.

Can I add learners?
Yes
Yes
No
No

Invitations
No invites
Invites go out to scheduled learners on the Start Date. Anyone added later on will receive the invite when assigned.
No invites
No invites

Reminders
No reminders
Reminders go out as scheduled.
Reminders go out as scheduled.
No reminders

Learner Dashboard
No Card Visible
Visible on Open tab until completed.
Visible on Open tab until completed.
Visible on Closed tab if incomplete, but cannot click into the course. If complete, the learner can click "Review Content."

Training Progress Report
Learner status = "Not Started, Selected"
Learner status = individual progress/participation status (Not Started, In Progress, Complete, Past Due)
Learner status = individual progress/participation status (Not Started, In Progress, Complete, Past Due)
Learner status = "Closed" Assignment is listed as "Deactivated"

Can I unassign learners?
Yes
Yes
Yes
No

Can I delete or deactivate?
All of the above, but delete is the only necessary one at this stage.
Cannot delete, but you can deactivate and move to Closed or Archived.
Cannot delete, but you can deactivate and move to Closed or Archived.
None of the above.


This feature is not available on this platform.