Platform Selector


Foundry

Before deactivating an assignment, it is important to first understand the different assignment statuses and what that means for learners. The two states to focus on around deactivation is Closed and Archived.

Closed Assignments will not accept new learners, but existing learners can continue through and complete their courses. Archived Assignments will not accept new learners, and all learners will not be able to make progress in their courses.

Which Version of Assignments Are You Using?

In 2020, we made several improvements to how Foundry manages and categorizes assignments giving administrators more control over who receives what content. The following article outlines the new assignment logic and features. Our goal is to have all customers using this newer functionality. To determine which version of assignments you are using, follow the steps below:

  1. Log into the Foundry Administrator Dashboard
  2. Look for “Settings” in the left navigation towards the bottom
  3. If there is no “Settings,” then go to this Assignment Logic page.
  4. If there is “Settings” but there is not “Training Periods,” then go to this Assignment Logic page.
  5. If there is “Settings” and there is “Training Periods,” then follow the instructions below.

If steps 3 or 4 apply to you, but you are interested in using the newer functionality, please contact Customer Support with this request.

To Close an Active Assignment:

  1. Go to Assignments and click on the assignment you want to deactivate
  2. Click on the Assignment Settings tab
  3. Scroll down to the Scheduling section
    • For Quick Assignments find the Due Date and set that to the day you want to close it
    • For Automated Assignments find the Automation Stop Date and set that to the day you want Foundry to stop adding new learners
  4. This is when the assignment moves from Active to Closed
  5. No new learners can be added, but the existing learners can continue to make progress

To Archive an Active Assignment:

  1. Go to Assignments and click on the assignment you want to deactivate
  2. Click on the Assignment Settings tab
  3. Scroll down to the Scheduling section and find the Archive Date to set that to the day you want to archive it
  4. This is when the assignment moves to the Deactivated tab on the Assignment Management page
  5. No new learners can be added and existing learners cannot continue progress

LawRoom

On LawRoom, it is not possible to deactivate an assignment. Instead, an administrator will need to unassign a course from an individual or a group of learners. Follow the instructions here on how to unassign a course.


Higher Ed Partner Center (Homeroom)

On the Higher Ed Partner Center, it is not possible to deactivate an assignment or prevent learners from taking a course after it was already launched or they have access to the registration code.

If you use the Single Sign-On Integration and you do not want learners accessing the course, you will just need to remove the link so learners cannot access EVERFI anymore.